SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
EasyEquities logoEasyEquitiesof Purple Group Ltd

EasyEquities in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by EasyEquities (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 22588, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (5 of 6 axes scored)

3.312.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no cost

  • Reviews25%30
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%0
  • Track record10%60
  • Platforms10%15

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.437 = 3.31 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (4 facts)

Onboarding entity
of Purple Group Ltd
Founded
2014
Currencies
ZAR
Swap-free account
conditional

Licence check

FSCA-authorised FSP No. 22588 (First World Trader). Not a direct JSE member; executes via Purple Group / partner brokers.
22588
Active on registerchecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with EasyEquities

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the EasyEquities website
EasyEquities's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
of Purple Group Ltd
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic platform
Licence as the register states it
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 22588 (First World Trader). Not a direct JSE member; executes via Purple Group / partner brokers.
Leverage for this entity
No retail forex; equities/ETFs unleveraged (fractional shares). CFD/leverage available via sister product EasyTrader, not the core EasyEquities platform.
The firm behind it
Launched 2014 to democratise investing via patented Fractional Share Rights model; owned by Purple Group Ltd (JSE-listed, ticker PPE), Johannesburg. Largest retail investing platform in SA by user numbers.
What we hold against it
No FSCA enforcement action identified; occasional user complaints on withdrawal/settlement timing and platform downtime - not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youof Purple Group LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

No retail forex; equities/ETFs unleveraged (fractional shares). CFD/leverage available via sister product EasyTrader, not the core EasyEquities platform.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic platform
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: ZAR account, USD/GBP/EUR/AUD offshore accounts, TFSA (tax-free), retirement annuity (RA), living annuity, EasyCrypto/EasyProperties wallets. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where EasyEquities sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38EasyEquities is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (3 methods · 2 local)

EFT, instant EFT, debit order, card top-up

  • EFTlocal
  • instant EFTlocal
  • Card top-up
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
3 of 3 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(2 platforms)

The platform page on the EasyEquities website
The platform page on EasyEquities's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • EasyEquities web platform
  • mobile app (iOS/Android)
ClassLeverage
EasyEquities web platform—ZA
mobile app (iOS/Android)—ZA

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 22588, read on 11.07.2026
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 5 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal in 120 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Payouts 0 of 100, its weakest of 5 scored axes
  • Not scored on round-turn cost: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.55
OctaFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#1
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredEasyEquities
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform30
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country0
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings60
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country15

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does EasyEquities accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic platform Onboarding entity: of Purple Group Ltd
Is EasyEquities licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA-authorised FSP No. 22588 (First World Trader). Not a direct JSE member; executes via Purple Group / partner brokers. Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does EasyEquities support?
EasyEquities web platform, mobile app (iOS/Android). Instruments: JSE shares (fractional), local & offshore ETFs, US/international shares, bundles, crypto (EasyCrypto), property (EasyProperties), RA/retirement funds, government bonds (in TFSA)
How can I withdraw money from EasyEquities in South Africa?
EFT, instant EFT, debit order, card top-up
What account types does EasyEquities offer?
ZAR account, USD/GBP/EUR/AUD offshore accounts, TFSA (tax-free), retirement annuity (RA), living annuity, EasyCrypto/EasyProperties wallets
Does EasyEquities offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Conditional.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.easyequities.co.za/

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources