SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
OctaFX logoOctaFXOrinoco Capital Pty Ltd

OctaFX in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by OctaFX (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 51913, register checked 27.08.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.552.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%90
  • Round-turn cost20%80
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%97.5
  • Track record10%75
  • Platforms10%65

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.850 = 4.55 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Orinoco Capital Pty Ltd
Founded
2011
Retail leverage
1000ZA
Round turn
9 USDZA
Currencies
USD, EUR
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA FSP 51913
51913
Active on registerchecked 27.08.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with OctaFX

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the OctaFX website
OctaFX's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Orinoco Capital Pty Ltd
Local standing
FSCA regulated
Licence as the register states it
FSCA FSP 51913
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:1000
The firm behind it
Global broker with local entity
What we hold against it
Mixed online reviews

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youOrinoco Capital Pty LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 51913
1:1000ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA regulated
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
OctaFX, raw spread plus commission9
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Real, demo. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where OctaFX sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 9 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 25 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:1000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38OctaFX is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (3 methods · 2 local)

EFT, OZOW, local bank

  • EFTlocal
  • Ozowlocal
  • Local bank
Account currency
USD, EUR
Fee declared
3 of 3 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(12 countries)

United StatesCanadaUnited KingdomEuropean UnionIsraelJapanNew ZealandNorth KoreaIranMyanmarPhilippinesSingapore

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

  • MT4
  • MT5
  • OctaTrader
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—1
MT5—1
OctaTrader—1
All instruments300—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 1000 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.8/ 5
Trustpilot rating
5, 581
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.85, 581

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(6 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 51913, read on 27.08.2026
  • Min deposit 25 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal in 3 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Payouts 98 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: MT4, MT5, OctaTrader
Against
  • Round turn 9 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • Platforms 65 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.28
ThinkMarkets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#8
4.02
Moneta Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#25
4
Scope Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
1000 group
Rank in this country
#27
4.27
AvaTrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#9
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredOctaFX
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform90
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median80
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country98
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings75
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country65

FAQ

Does OctaFX accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA regulated Onboarding entity: Orinoco Capital Pty Ltd
Is OctaFX licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA FSP 51913 Checked on 27.08.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at OctaFX?
About 9.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does OctaFX offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:1000. leverageGeo: Up to 1:1000
Which trading platforms does OctaFX support?
MT4, MT5, OctaTrader. Instruments: Forex, crypto, stocks
How can I withdraw money from OctaFX in South Africa?
EFT, OZOW, local bank
What account types does OctaFX offer?
Real and demo
Does OctaFX offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. OctaFX offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident

    Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

    Verified · Sources

    Verified01.10.2026
    next review 01.01.2027