SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
HFM logoHFMSA clients served under LOCAL FSCA-licensed entity HF Markets SA (Pty) Ltd.

HFM in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by HFM (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 46632, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.462.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%80
  • Round-turn cost20%95
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%80
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.820 = 4.46 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
SA clients served under LOCAL FSCA-licensed entity HF Markets SA (Pty) Ltd.
Founded
2010
Retail leverage
2000ZA
Round turn
6 USDZA
Currencies
ZAR trading accounts offered; also USD.
Swap-free account
yes

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Licence check

GENUINE local FSCA FSP licence No. 46632.
46632
Number listed on the registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with HFM

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the HFM website
HFM's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
SA clients served under LOCAL FSCA-licensed entity HF Markets SA (Pty) Ltd.
Local standing
Locally regulated (positive): fund segregation, transparent pricing, local support and recourse.
Licence as the register states it
GENUINE local FSCA FSP licence No. 46632.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:2000 depending on instrument/equity/market conditions.
The firm behind it
Ex-HotForex, founded 2010, HQ Cyprus; local ZA legal entity + support.
What we hold against it
POSITIVE: genuine FSCA local licence with ZAR accounts. FCA clone-firm warning applies to brand generally.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youSA clients served under LOCAL FSCA-licensed entity HF Markets SA (Pty) Ltd.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 46632
1:2000ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally regulated (positive): fund segregation, transparent pricing, local support and recourse.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
HFM, raw spread plus commission6
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium, Islamic, 1000+ CFD instruments, low min. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where HFM sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 6 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:2000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38HFM is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
Cards24050
E-wallets24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 0 local rails)

Fast free deposits/withdrawals via local ZAR banks;

  • Cards
  • E-wallets
Account currency
ZAR trading accounts offered; also USD.
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(6 countries)

United StatesCanadaSudanSyriaIranNorth Korea

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(3 platforms)

  • MT4
  • MT5
  • HFM app

Identical for every row: Min spread 0.6 · Leverage 2000 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.6/ 5
Trustpilot rating
5, 2,295
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.65, 2,295

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(7 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 6 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Locally authorised, licence 46632, read on 09.07.2026
  • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Round-turn cost 95 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: MT4, MT5, HFM app
Against
  • A regulator warning is on file against this broker
  • Platforms 50 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.36
Admirals
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#6
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredHFM
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform80
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median95
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings80
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does HFM accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally regulated (positive): fund segregation, transparent pricing, local support and recourse. Onboarding entity: SA clients served under LOCAL FSCA-licensed entity HF Markets SA (Pty) Ltd.
Is HFM licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
GENUINE local FSCA FSP licence No. 46632. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at HFM?
About 6.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does HFM offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:2000. leverageGeo: Up to 1:2000 depending on instrument/equity/market conditions.
Which trading platforms does HFM support?
MT4, MT5, HFM app. Instruments: 1000+ CFDs: FX, metals, indices, shares, commodities, crypto.
How can I withdraw money from HFM in South Africa?
Fast free deposits/withdrawals via local ZAR banks; cards, e-wallets.
What account types does HFM offer?
Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium, Islamic; 1000+ CFD instruments; low min.
Does HFM offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. HFM offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://fxscouts.co.za

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027