SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Sasfin Securities logoSasfin Securitiesof Sasfin Holdings Ltd

Sasfin Securities in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Sasfin Securities (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (4 of 6 axes scored)

3.852.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: no cost

  • Reviews25%50
  • Safety20%90
  • Track record10%95
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.617 = 3.85 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

JSE member (Sasfin Securities Pty Ltd); group FSPs incl. Sasfin Wealth Investment Platform FSP 45334, Sasfin Asset Managers FSP 21664, Sasfin Financial Advisory Services FSP 5711; Sasfin Securities' own FSP not separately verified at review
No licence number published for South Africachecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Sasfin Securities

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Sasfin Securities website
Sasfin Securities's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
of Sasfin Holdings Ltd
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic; JSE member
Licence as the register states it
JSE member (Sasfin Securities Pty Ltd); group FSPs incl. Sasfin Wealth Investment Platform FSP 45334, Sasfin Asset Managers FSP 21664, Sasfin Financial Advisory Services FSP 5711; Sasfin Securities' own FSP not separately verified at review
Leverage for this entity
No retail forex; JSE equities/ETFs largely unleveraged; single-stock CFDs where offered (leverage varies) - primarily full-service stockbroking
The firm behind it
Established South African banking and wealth group; Sasfin Holdings Ltd listed on the JSE (SFN); Sasfin Wealth division provides stockbroking, asset management and financial advice
What we hold against it
Not verified at review (group has faced broader banking scrutiny; no specific Sasfin Securities FSCA action confirmed here)

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youof Sasfin Holdings LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

No retail forex; JSE equities/ETFs largely unleveraged; single-stock CFDs where offered (leverage varies) - primarily full-service stockbroking

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic; JSE member
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: ZAR stockbroking accounts, discretionary/managed portfolios, offshore/USD investment via platform, TFSA, retirement/wealth solutions. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Sasfin Securities sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Sasfin Securities is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24050
Bank transfer24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 1 local)

EFT / bank transfer;

  • EFTlocal
  • Bank transfer
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(1 platform)

  • Sasfin Wealth investment platform / online portal
ClassCountMin spreadLeverage
Sasfin Wealth investment platform / online portal———ZA

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.0/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.0—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(2 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the South Africa regulator in its own register
  • Track record 95 of 100, its strongest of 4 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Platforms 0 of 100, its weakest of 4 scored axes
  • Not scored on round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.32
Mitrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#7
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.55
OctaFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#1
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredSasfin Securities
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform50
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings95
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does Sasfin Securities accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic; JSE member Onboarding entity: of Sasfin Holdings Ltd
Is Sasfin Securities licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
JSE member (Sasfin Securities Pty Ltd); group FSPs incl. Sasfin Wealth Investment Platform FSP 45334, Sasfin Asset Managers FSP 21664, Sasfin Financial Advisory Services FSP 5711; Sasfin Securities' own FSP not separately verified at review Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Sasfin Securities support?
Sasfin Wealth investment platform / online portal. Instruments: JSE shares, ETFs, bonds, offshore/international equities, funds; managed portfolios
How can I withdraw money from Sasfin Securities in South Africa?
EFT / bank transfer; debit order for recurring contributions
What account types does Sasfin Securities offer?
ZAR stockbroking accounts, discretionary/managed portfolios, offshore/USD investment via platform, TFSA, retirement/wealth solutions

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.sasfin.com/wealth/funds

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027