SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Plus500 logoPlus500Plus500AU Pty Ltd

Plus500 in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Plus500 (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 47546, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.952.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%60
  • Round-turn cost20%85
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%40
  • Track record10%90
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.650 = 3.95 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Plus500AU Pty Ltd
Founded
2008
Retail leverage
30ZA
Round turn
8 USDZA
Currencies
ZAR account available (default for SA sign-ups); also USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD, SGD and others - local ZAR account avoids conversion.
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

Plus500AU Pty Ltd is an FSCA-authorised Financial Services Provider, FSP No. 47546 (issued 2017); also ASIC AFSL 417727 and FMA NZ FSP 486026.
47546
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Plus500

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Plus500 website
Plus500's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Plus500AU Pty Ltd
Local standing
Served under genuine local FSCA regulation - a real domestic licence rather than a pure offshore arrangement.
Licence as the register states it
Plus500AU Pty Ltd is an FSCA-authorised Financial Services Provider, FSP No. 47546 (issued 2017); also ASIC AFSL 417727 and FMA NZ FSP 486026.
Leverage for this entity
Retail leverage capped at 1:30 major forex, 1:20 minors/gold/major indices, 1:10 other commodities/indices, 1:5 shares, 1:2 crypto (ASIC-aligned limits applied by Plus500AU).
The firm behind it
Plus500 Ltd, founded 2008 in Haifa, Israel; listed on the London Stock Exchange (FTSE 250); profitable CFD-only fintech with proprietary technology and tens of millions of registered customers.
What we hold against it
Strong - genuine FSCA local licence (FSP 47546), listed parent, ZAR accounts; standard CFD high-risk disclosure applies (majority of retail accounts lose money).

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youPlus500AU Pty LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 47546
1:30ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youServed under genuine local FSCA regulation - a real domestic licence rather than a pure offshore arrangement.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Plus500, standard spread8
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Single Retail CFD account (Professional classification available), free unlimited demo. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Plus500 sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 8 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 10 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:30 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Plus500 is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 0 local rails)

Debit/credit card (Visa/Mastercard), PayPal, Skrill, ApplePay and bank transfer, all in ZAR.

  • Credit card
  • PayPal
  • Skrill
  • Bank transfer
Account currency
ZAR account available (default for SA sign-ups); also USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD, SGD and others - local ZAR account avoids conversion.
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(7 countries)

United StatesCanadaBelgiumIranNorth KoreaSudanSyria

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(1 platform)

  • Plus500 WebTrader
ClassCountMin spreadLeverage
Plus500 WebTrader—0.830ZA

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.2/ 5
Trustpilot rating
18,737
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.218,737

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(4 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 47546, read on 09.07.2026
  • Min deposit 10 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 90 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
Against
  • Round turn 8 USD on the standard basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • Withdrawal in 72 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Platforms 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.55
OctaFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#1
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.32
Mitrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#7
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredPlus500
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform60
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median85
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country40
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings90
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does Plus500 accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Served under genuine local FSCA regulation - a real domestic licence rather than a pure offshore arrangement. Onboarding entity: Plus500AU Pty Ltd
Is Plus500 licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
Plus500AU Pty Ltd is an FSCA-authorised Financial Services Provider, FSP No. 47546 (issued 2017); also ASIC AFSL 417727 and FMA NZ FSP 486026. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Plus500?
About 8.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does Plus500 offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:30. Retail leverage capped at 1:30 major forex, 1:20 minors/gold/major indices, 1:10 other commodities/indices, 1:5 shares, 1:2 crypto (ASIC-aligned limits applied by Plus500AU)
Which trading platforms does Plus500 support?
Plus500 WebTrader. Instruments: 2,000+ CFDs across forex, indices, commodities, shares, ETFs, options and crypto.
How can I withdraw money from Plus500 in South Africa?
Debit/credit card (Visa/Mastercard), PayPal, Skrill, ApplePay and bank transfer, all in ZAR.
What account types does Plus500 offer?
Single Retail CFD account (Professional classification available); free unlimited demo.
Does Plus500 offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Plus500 offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://plus500.com/en/TradingAcademy/FAQ

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources