SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
OANDA logoOANDANone. OANDA does NOT accept clients from South Africa (contrary to the assumption of an FSCA-licensed local arm - no such OANDA entity exists).

OANDA in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
noAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by OANDA (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.092.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%30
  • Round-turn cost20%95
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%0
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.363 = 3.09 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

Not applicable. OANDA holds NO FSCA licence and does not operate in ZA.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Screenshot of the OANDA website
OANDA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
None. OANDA does NOT accept clients from South Africa (contrary to the assumption of an FSCA-licensed local arm - no such OANDA entity exists).
Local standing
Not applicable - not served. As of 2026, OANDA is not available to South African residents.
Licence as the register states it
Not applicable. OANDA holds NO FSCA licence and does not operate in ZA.
Leverage for this entity
Not applicable.
The firm behind it
OANDA founded 1996; Tier-1 global group, but has no FSCA-authorized South African entity.
What we hold against it
Not served; ZA is excluded from OANDA's country list and OGM eligible list. Any 'OANDA FSCA' claim is inaccurate.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

No entity onboards residents hereNone. OANDA does NOT accept clients from South Africa (contrary to the assumption of an FSCA-licensed local arm - no such OANDA entity exists).Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

Not applicable.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youNot applicable - not served. As of 2026, OANDA is not available to South African residents.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
OANDA, standard spread6
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Not applicable - not served. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where OANDA sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 6 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38OANDA is one of the 6

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

Not applicable - not served.

    Account currency
    Not applicable - not served.
    Fee declared
    0 of 0 methods
    Withdrawal back to
    the funding method

    Where it does not serve(11 countries)

    AfghanistanBelarusChinaIndiaIranIraqMyanmarNew ZealandSouth AfricaTurkiyeUkraine

    From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

    Platforms and markets

    The platform page on the OANDA website
    The platform page on OANDA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

    Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

    3.6/ 5
    Trustpilot rating
    5, 1235
    reviews
    02.10.2026
    snapshot, 2026
    SnapshotRatingReviews
    02.10.20263.65, 1235

    Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

    Pros and cons(3 for and 3 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

    For
    • Round turn 6 USD on the standard basis, under the South Africa median 7
    • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
    • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
    Against
    • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
    • Withdrawal in 120 h, over the South Africa median 24
    • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

    Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

    3.54
    Interactive Brokers
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0ZA
    Rank in this country
    #58
    4.14
    Grand Capital
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    10ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #17
    4.13
    Fusion Markets
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    4.5ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #18
    4.03
    Global Prime
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    7ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #24
    3.92
    BlackBull Markets
    Licensed elsewhere
    Round turn, USD
    6ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    0ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #34
    4.36
    Admirals
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    6ZA
    Min deposit, USD
    25ZA
    Leverage
    500ZA
    Rank in this country
    #6

    "group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

    Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

    Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

    AxisWeightWhat is measuredOANDA
    Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform30
    Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median95
    Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
    Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country0
    Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
    Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

    FAQ

    Does OANDA accept residents of South Africa?
    No. Not applicable - not served. As of 2026, OANDA is not available to South African residents. Onboarding entity: None. OANDA does NOT accept clients from South Africa (contrary to the assumption of an FSCA-licensed local arm - no such OANDA entity exists).
    Is OANDA licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
    Not applicable. OANDA holds NO FSCA licence and does not operate in ZA. Checked on 09.07.2026.
    How much does one round turn cost at OANDA?
    About 6.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
    How can I withdraw money from OANDA in South Africa?
    Not applicable - not served.
    What account types does OANDA offer?
    Not applicable - not served.

    Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

    • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://tradersunion.com/brokers/forex/view/oanda/is-regulated-in-south-africa/

    Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

    Verified · Sources

    Verified01.10.2026
    next review 01.01.2027