SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
FXCM logoFXCMServed locally by Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd (FXCM South Africa).

FXCM in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by FXCM (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 46534, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.262.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%75
  • Round-turn cost20%90
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%40
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%25

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.753 = 4.26 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Served locally by Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd (FXCM South Africa).
Founded
1999
Retail leverage
400ZA
Round turn
7 USDZA
Currencies
ZAR supported plus USD/EUR/GBP.
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA-authorized FSP No. 46534 (local licence).
46534
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with FXCM

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the FXCM website
FXCM's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Served locally by Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd (FXCM South Africa).
Local standing
Locally regulated by FSCA; negative balance protection offered. No FSCA warning verified at review.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA-authorized FSP No. 46534 (local licence).
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:400 on majors when equity < USD 20,000; reduced to 1:200 above USD 20,000.
The firm behind it
Founded 1999 New York; part of Stratos/Jefferies. Banned from US by CFTC/NFA in 2017 ($7M penalty).
What we hold against it
FSCA-licensed local entity; among better-regulated FXCM routes.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youServed locally by Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd (FXCM South Africa).Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 46534
1:400ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youLocally regulated by FSCA; negative balance protection offered. No FSCA warning verified at review.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
FXCM, raw spread plus commission7
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Standard account, min ZAR 70 (~USD 4). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where FXCM sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 7 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 4 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:400 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38FXCM is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
Local EFT via major SA banks24050
Cards24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 1 local)

Local EFT via major SA banks, cards.

  • Local EFT via major SA bankslocal
  • Cards
Account currency
ZAR supported plus USD/EUR/GBP.
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(8 countries)

United StatesCanadathe European UnionHong KongAustraliaIsraelJapanIndia

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

  • MT4
  • Trading Station
  • TradingView
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—0.8
Trading Station—0.8
TradingView—0.8
Forex pairs41—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 400 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.5/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,260
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.51,260

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(5 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 46534, read on 09.07.2026
  • Min deposit 4 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: MT4, Trading Station, TradingView
Against
  • Withdrawal in 72 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Platforms 25 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.36
Admirals
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#6
4.55
OctaFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
9ZA
Min deposit, USD
25ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#1
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredFXCM
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform75
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median90
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country40
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country25

FAQ

Does FXCM accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Locally regulated by FSCA; negative balance protection offered. No FSCA warning verified at review. Onboarding entity: Served locally by Stratos South Africa (Pty) Ltd (FXCM South Africa).
Is FXCM licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA-authorized FSP No. 46534 (local licence). Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at FXCM?
About 7.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does FXCM offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:400. Up to 1:400 on majors when equity < USD 20,000; reduced to 1:200 above USD 20,000.
Which trading platforms does FXCM support?
MT4, Trading Station, TradingView. Instruments: FX, indices, commodities, crypto CFDs, shares.
How can I withdraw money from FXCM in South Africa?
Local EFT via major SA banks, cards.
What account types does FXCM offer?
Standard account; min ZAR 70 (~USD 4).
Does FXCM offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. FXCM offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://fxscouts.co.za/broker/fxcm

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027