SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
ActivTrades logoActivTradesSouth African clients onboarded offshore under ActivTrades Corp (SCB Bahamas); no local entity.

ActivTrades in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
through an offshore entityAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by ActivTrades (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.032.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%75
  • Round-turn cost20%100
  • Safety20%10
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.677 = 4.03 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
South African clients onboarded offshore under ActivTrades Corp (SCB Bahamas); no local entity.
Founded
2001
Retail leverage
200ZA
Round turn
4.2 USDZA
Currencies
USD, EUR, GBP, CHF; no ZAR account, deposits convert.
Swap-free account
yes

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Licence check

SCB Bahamas; not FSCA-authorised in South Africa.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with ActivTrades

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the ActivTrades website
ActivTrades's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
South African clients onboarded offshore under ActivTrades Corp (SCB Bahamas); no local entity.
Local standing
Offshore (Bahamas SCB); no FSCA authorisation, no local statutory protection.
Licence as the register states it
SCB Bahamas; not FSCA-authorised in South Africa.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:200 on forex via SCB; not locally capped.
The firm behind it
Founded 2001, London; FCA-regulated group with SCB/CSSF/CVM entities.
What we hold against it
Established FCA-tier broker; not FSCA-licensed; no FSCA warning verified at review.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youSouth African clients onboarded offshore under ActivTrades Corp (SCB Bahamas); no local entity.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence —
1:200ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youOffshore (Bahamas SCB); no FSCA authorisation, no local statutory protection.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
ActivTrades, raw spread plus commission4.2
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Individual (retail), Professional, Islamic, ~500+ instruments. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where ActivTrades sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 4.2 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:200 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38ActivTrades is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 0 local rails)

Cards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller;

  • Cards
  • Bank wire
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
Account currency
USD, EUR, GBP, CHF; no ZAR account, deposits convert.
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(26 countries)

United StatesCanadaRussiaUkraineBelarusAlbaniaIranIraqSyriaYemenLibyaSomaliaSudanSouth SudanAfghanistanLebanonCubaVenezuelaZimbabweJapanAmerican SamoaNorthern Mariana IslandsU.S. Virgin IslandsU.S. Minor Outlying IslandsNorth KoreaRepublic of Congo

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

The platform page on the ActivTrades website
The platform page on ActivTrades's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • ActivTrader
  • MT4
  • MT5
  • TradingView

Identical for every row: Min spread 0.5 · Leverage 200 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.5/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.5—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(6 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 4.2 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Min deposit 0 USD, under the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Round-turn cost 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 4 platforms: ActivTrader, MT4, MT5, TradingView
Against
  • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • Safety 10 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.14
Grand Capital
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#17
4.13
Fusion Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
4.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#18
3.71
HYCM
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
5ZA
Min deposit, USD
100 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#48
3.9
Hantec Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
3ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#36
3.71
Alpari
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
3.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
30ZA
Leverage
3000ZA
Rank in this country
#47
4.23
STARTRADER
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#13

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredActivTrades
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform75
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median100
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning10
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does ActivTrades accept residents of South Africa?
No. Offshore (Bahamas SCB); no FSCA authorisation, no local statutory protection. Onboarding entity: South African clients onboarded offshore under ActivTrades Corp (SCB Bahamas); no local entity.
Is ActivTrades licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
SCB Bahamas; not FSCA-authorised in South Africa. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at ActivTrades?
About 4.2 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does ActivTrades offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:200. Up to 1:200 on forex via SCB; not locally capped.
Which trading platforms does ActivTrades support?
ActivTrader, MT4, MT5, TradingView. Instruments: Forex, indices, commodities, shares, ETFs, bonds, crypto CFDs.
How can I withdraw money from ActivTrades in South Africa?
Cards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller; no local ZAR EFT rails verified at review.
What account types does ActivTrades offer?
Individual (retail), Professional, Islamic; ~500+ instruments.
Does ActivTrades offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. ActivTrades offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://activtrades.com

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027
Sources · precision