SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Tickmill logoTickmillTickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd — locally licensed.

Tickmill in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Tickmill (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, FSCA licence 49464, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.272.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%55
  • Round-turn cost20%95
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%60
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.757 = 4.27 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd — locally licensed.
Founded
2014
Retail leverage
1000ZA
Round turn
6 USDZA
Currencies
USD, GBP, EUR and ZAR — local-currency account avoids conversion fees.
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

FSCA FSP No. 49464 (onshore SA authorisation).
49464
Active on registerchecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Tickmill

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Tickmill website
Tickmill's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd — locally licensed.
Local standing
FSCA-regulated locally; among the few onshore-licensed offerings for SA retail.
Licence as the register states it
FSCA FSP No. 49464 (onshore SA authorisation).
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:1000 headline; 1:500 on major FX and gold, 1:100 indices/bonds/oil, 1:20 crypto.
The firm behind it
Tickmill group founded 2014; SA entity holds FSCA FSP 49464.
What we hold against it
FSCA-licensed (flagged); reputable onshore option — verify entity on FSCA register.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youTickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd — locally licensed.Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence 49464
1:1000ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated locally; among the few onshore-licensed offerings for SA retail.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Tickmill, raw spread plus commission6
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Classic / Pro / Raw, min USD 100 (lower for ZAR-denominated, from ZAR 100). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Tickmill sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 6 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 100 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:1000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Tickmill is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (4 methods · 0 local rails)

Local SA bank transfers, cards, Skrill, Neteller;

  • Local SA bank transfers
  • Cards
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
Account currency
USD, GBP, EUR and ZAR — local-currency account avoids conversion fees.
Fee declared
4 of 4 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(5 countries)

SingaporeUnited StatesIranIndiaJapan

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(3 platforms)

The platform page on the Tickmill website
The platform page on Tickmill's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • MT4
  • MT5
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—1.7
MT5—1.7
All instruments600+—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 1000 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.1/ 5
Trustpilot rating
4,380
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.14,380

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(5 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 6 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the South Africa median 7
  • Locally authorised, licence 49464, read on 09.07.2026
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
Against
  • Min deposit 100 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Platforms 50 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
4.46
HFM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0 groupZA
Leverage
2000ZA
Rank in this country
#3
4.37
ACY Securities
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#4
4.36
FXGT
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
10ZA
Leverage
5000ZA
Rank in this country
#5
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredTickmill
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform55
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median95
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings60
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does Tickmill accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated locally; among the few onshore-licensed offerings for SA retail. Onboarding entity: Tickmill South Africa (Pty) Ltd — locally licensed.
Is Tickmill licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
FSCA FSP No. 49464 (onshore SA authorisation). Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Tickmill?
About 6.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does Tickmill offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:1000. Up to 1:1000 headline; 1:500 on major FX and gold, 1:100 indices/bonds/oil, 1:20 crypto.
Which trading platforms does Tickmill support?
MT4, MT5. Instruments: FX, indices, commodities, stocks, bonds, crypto CFDs.
How can I withdraw money from Tickmill in South Africa?
Local SA bank transfers, cards, Skrill, Neteller; ZAR funding supported.
What account types does Tickmill offer?
Classic / Pro / Raw; min USD 100 (lower for ZAR-denominated, from ZAR 100).
Does Tickmill offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Tickmill offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://tickmill.com/about/licences-and-regulation

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027