SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Swissquote logoSwissquoteSwissquote Bank Ltd

Swissquote in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
through an offshore entityAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Swissquote (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.52.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%50
  • Round-turn cost20%45
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%65

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.500 = 3.5 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Swissquote Bank Ltd
Founded
1996
Retail leverage
100ZA
Round turn
16 USDZA
Currencies
Multi-currency (USD, EUR, CHF); no ZAR base account.
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

No FSCA licence; offshore FINMA-regulated Swiss bank.
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Swissquote

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Swissquote website
Swissquote's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Swissquote Bank Ltd
Local standing
Offshore; not FSCA-regulated. Accepts South African residents.
Licence as the register states it
No FSCA licence; offshore FINMA-regulated Swiss bank.
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:100 (retail).
The firm behind it
Swissquote Bank Ltd, Gland, Switzerland; FINMA Swiss bank, listed on SIX.
What we hold against it
Bank-grade, high min deposit; reputable but not on FSCA register, offshore for SA clients.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youSwissquote Bank LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence —
1:100ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youOffshore; not FSCA-regulated. Accepts South African residents.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Swissquote, raw spread plus commission16
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 58 priced on the raw spread plus commission6.75

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Standard (min USD 1, 000), Premium (USD 10, 000), Prime (USD 50, 000). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Swissquote sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 16 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 1000 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:100 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Swissquote is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
International bank wire24050
Cards24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 0 local rails)

International bank wire, cards;

  • International bank wire
  • Cards
Account currency
Multi-currency (USD, EUR, CHF); no ZAR base account.
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(2 countries)

United StatesCanada

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

The platform page on the Swissquote website
The platform page on Swissquote's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • Advanced Trader
  • MT4
  • MT5
ClassCountMin spread
Advanced Trader—1.7
MT4—1.7
MT5—1.7
Forex pairs130+—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 100 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.0/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,323
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.01,323

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(4 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 86 of 103 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: Advanced Trader, MT4, MT5
Against
  • Round turn 16 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • Min deposit 1000 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

3.68
MultiBank Group
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
15ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#50
3.67
LiteFinance
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
18ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#51
3.38
Equiti
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
500ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#61
3.21
BDSwiss
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
10ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
2000 group
Rank in this country
#64
3.21
T4Trade
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
18ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
1000ZA
Rank in this country
#65
3.82
ATFX
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
12ZA
Min deposit, USD
500 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#39

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredSwissquote
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform50
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median45
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country65

FAQ

Does Swissquote accept residents of South Africa?
No. Offshore; not FSCA-regulated. Accepts South African residents. Onboarding entity: Swissquote Bank Ltd
Is Swissquote licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
No FSCA licence; offshore FINMA-regulated Swiss bank. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Swissquote?
About 16.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does Swissquote offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:100. Up to 1:100 (retail)
Which trading platforms does Swissquote support?
Advanced Trader, MT4, MT5. Instruments: FX, CFDs, stocks, ETFs, crypto, bonds.
How can I withdraw money from Swissquote in South Africa?
International bank wire, cards; no local South African rails.
What account types does Swissquote offer?
Standard (min USD 1,000), Premium (USD 10,000), Prime (USD 50,000).
Does Swissquote offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. Swissquote offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to South Africa residents.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://brokerchooser.com/swissquote-south-africa

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027