SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Sanlam iTrade logoSanlam iTradeSanlam Private Wealth (Pty) Ltd (Sanlam Group)

Sanlam iTrade in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by Sanlam iTrade (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 11.07.2026

Score (3 of 6 axes scored)

—2.0–5.0

shown, not ranked: only 40% of the weight has data, need 55%

  • Safety20%100
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.751 = 4.25 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (4 facts)

Onboarding entity
Sanlam Private Wealth (Pty) Ltd (Sanlam Group)
Founded
2000
Currencies
ZAR
Swap-free account
no

Licence check

Trading portal of Sanlam Private Wealth, FSCA-regulated; JSE stockbroking member (FSP details via Sanlam Private Wealth) - specific FSP number not verified at review
No licence number published for South Africachecked 11.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with Sanlam iTrade

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Sanlam iTrade website
Sanlam iTrade's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Sanlam Private Wealth (Pty) Ltd (Sanlam Group)
Local standing
FSCA-regulated domestic stockbroker; JSE access
Licence as the register states it
Trading portal of Sanlam Private Wealth, FSCA-regulated; JSE stockbroking member (FSP details via Sanlam Private Wealth) - specific FSP number not verified at review
Leverage for this entity
Offers CFDs (leveraged) with direct market access alongside unleveraged shares/ETFs. No spot retail forex.
The firm behind it
Online trading portal of Sanlam Private Wealth, part of Sanlam Group (one of SA's largest financial-services groups). Offers DMA to the JSE.
What we hold against it
No FSCA enforcement action identified - not verified at review

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youSanlam Private Wealth (Pty) Ltd (Sanlam Group)Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence

Offers CFDs (leveraged) with direct market access alongside unleveraged shares/ETFs. No spot retail forex.

—ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFSCA-regulated domestic stockbroker; JSE access
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: iTrade Standard account (min deposit ~R5, 000), iTrade Pro account (~R130/month), ZAR share-trading account. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Sanlam iTrade sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 5000 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38Sanlam iTrade is one of the 6

Payouts(1 method)

MethodDeposit, hWithdrawal, hFee, USDMin, USD
EFT24—050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 1 local)

EFT, debit order

  • EFTlocal
Account currency
ZAR
Fee declared
1 of 1 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(1 platform)

  • Sanlam iTrade online trading platform (web)
ClassCountMin spreadLeverage
Sanlam iTrade online trading platform (web)———ZA

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Pros and cons(2 for and 5 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the South Africa regulator in its own register
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 3 scored axes
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Min deposit 5000 USD, over the South Africa median 50
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Platforms 0 of 100, its weakest of 3 scored axes
  • Not scored on reviews, round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

4.13
IG Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
13.6ZA
Min deposit, USD
50ZA
Leverage
20ZA
Rank in this country
#19
4.13
Markets.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
300ZA
Rank in this country
#20
3.96
Khwezi Trade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
400ZA
Rank in this country
#32
3.64
Unum Capital
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
11ZA
Rank in this country
#53
4.48
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
20ZA
Leverage
30 group
Rank in this country
#2
3.92
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6ZA
Min deposit, USD
0ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#34

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredSanlam iTrade
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform—
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

— the broker does not publish this figure; it is not read as a zero and it is not scored.

FAQ

Does Sanlam iTrade accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. FSCA-regulated domestic stockbroker; JSE access Onboarding entity: Sanlam Private Wealth (Pty) Ltd (Sanlam Group)
Is Sanlam iTrade licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
Trading portal of Sanlam Private Wealth, FSCA-regulated; JSE stockbroking member (FSP details via Sanlam Private Wealth) - specific FSP number not verified at review Checked on 11.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Sanlam iTrade support?
Sanlam iTrade online trading platform (web). Instruments: JSE-listed shares, ETFs, ETNs, warrants, CFDs
How can I withdraw money from Sanlam iTrade in South Africa?
EFT, debit order
What account types does Sanlam iTrade offer?
iTrade Standard account (min deposit ~R5,000), iTrade Pro account (~R130/month), ZAR share-trading account
Does Sanlam iTrade offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
No. Sanlam iTrade publishes no swap-free (Islamic) account for South Africa.

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://www.sanlamitrade.co.za/w/FindOutMore.aspx

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources