SponsoredVisit FxPro
100 brokers measured in South Africabroker data checked 27.08.2026
eToro logoeToroServed; South African clients onboarded under eToro (UK) Ltd (per current review sources).

eToro in South Africa — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Lantern Review editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of South AfricaOpened by eToro (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.192.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%60
  • Round-turn cost20%75
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%0
  • Track record10%95
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.397 = 3.19 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts

Licence check

No local FSCA licence; served under FCA-regulated eToro (UK) Ltd (FRN 583263).
No licence number published for South Africachecked 09.07.2026fsca.co.za
Open an account with eToro

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the eToro website
eToro's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards South Africa residents
Served; South African clients onboarded under eToro (UK) Ltd (per current review sources).
Local standing
Not locally regulated by FSCA; UK/FCA oversight with FSCS coverage (up to GBP 85,000) cited for UK entity.
Licence as the register states it
No local FSCA licence; served under FCA-regulated eToro (UK) Ltd (FRN 583263).
Leverage for this entity
Under UK/FCA retail rules: majors capped ~1:30. If routed via Seychelles, up to 1:400 (not verified for ZA at review).
The firm behind it
Founded 2007; NASDAQ-listed (ETOR) 2025; social/copy-trading + multi-asset.
What we hold against it
Accepts SA clients but not FSCA-authorised locally; recourse is via UK/FCA. CFD risk (~50% retail lose money).

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards South African residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youServed; South African clients onboarded under eToro (UK) Ltd (per current review sources).Local or offshore not stated in the source · FSCA licence —
1:30ZA
South Africa median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youNot locally regulated by FSCA; UK/FCA oversight with FSCS coverage (up to GBP 85,000) cited for UK entity.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against South Africa market median(priced from 80 of 103)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
eToro, standard spread10
South Africa median, all 80 priced7
South Africa median, the 22 priced on the standard spread9.5

Medians run over the 80 of 103 brokers that publish a price for South Africa, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Retail social/copy + multi-asset, min first deposit ~USD 50 (varies). The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where eToro sits in the South Africa base(103 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (80 of 103 priced)

14<5
5010
915
620
125
030
0>30

Median 7 USD · range 1-20 · this broker 10 USD · 23 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (49 of 103 priced)

42<200
5400
1600
0800
1>800

Median 50 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 50 USD · 54 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (72 of 103 with a South Africa figure)

49<1k
142k
43k
44k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · this broker 1:30 · 31 of 103 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (103 brokers)

6of 100
Published, hours6not published38eToro is one of the 6

Payouts

Identical for every row: Deposit, h 24 · Fee, USD 0 · Min, USD 50.

Deposit and withdrawal methods (5 methods · 0 local rails)

Cards, bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller;

  • Cards
  • Bank transfer
  • PayPal
  • Skrill
  • Neteller
Account currency
USD accounts; no ZAR base.
Fee declared
5 of 5 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(18 countries)

Saudi Arabia

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(7 platforms)

The platform page on the eToro website
The platform page on eToro's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)
  • Proprietary eToro web
  • app
ClassCountMin spread
Proprietary eToro web—1
app—1
Forex pairs65—
Shares9636—
Indices56—
Commodities78—
Crypto203—

184 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: IC Markets Raw Spread MT4/MT5, IC Markets Raw Spread cTrader, Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard and 178 more.

Identical for every row: Leverage 30 ZA.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.2/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.2—

Share of reviewers in South Africa: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(1 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Track record 95 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
Against
  • Round turn 10 USD on the standard basis, over the South Africa median 7
  • No South Africa authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • Withdrawal in 120 h, over the South Africa median 24
  • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in South Africa(6 of 103 scored in South Africa)

3.82
Orbex
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#40
3.38
Equiti
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
500ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#61
3.21
BDSwiss
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
10ZA
Min deposit, USD
10 groupZA
Leverage
2000 group
Rank in this country
#64
3.68
MultiBank Group
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
15ZA
Min deposit, USD
50 groupZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#50
3.58
Skilling
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
8.5ZA
Min deposit, USD
100ZA
Leverage
500ZA
Rank in this country
#55
4.24
CMTrading
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8ZA
Min deposit, USD
300ZA
Leverage
200ZA
Rank in this country
#12

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a South Africa score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredeToro
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform60
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median75
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country0
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings95
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does eToro accept residents of South Africa?
Yes. Not locally regulated by FSCA; UK/FCA oversight with FSCS coverage (up to GBP 85,000) cited for UK entity. Onboarding entity: Served; South African clients onboarded under eToro (UK) Ltd (per current review sources).
Is eToro licensed to serve clients in South Africa?
No local FSCA licence; served under FCA-regulated eToro (UK) Ltd (FRN 583263). Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at eToro?
About 10.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for South Africa is 7.0 USD.
What leverage does eToro offer to retail clients in South Africa?
Up to 1:30. Under UK/FCA retail rules: majors capped ~1:30.
Which trading platforms does eToro support?
Proprietary eToro web, app. Instruments: Real stocks, ETFs, crypto, CFDs (FX/indices/commodities).
How can I withdraw money from eToro in South Africa?
Cards, bank transfer, PayPal, Skrill, Neteller; no ZAR-specific rails verified.
What account types does eToro offer?
Retail social/copy + multi-asset; min first deposit ~USD 50 (varies).

Taxes for a South African resident(1 rule)

  • SARS taxes residents on worldwide income.https://fxscouts.co.za/broker/etoro

Not tax advice. Check with SARS.

Verified · Sources